Holy crap, it’s fall!!

And I’m listening to Christmas music.

Well, I have a remix of “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus” (which is probably the only Christmas song that I hate…)  and the Miss America theme song going through my head…but that’s not really normal, right? I mean, I know (as does my mother and Sara) that my Christmas music starts pretty early but I think even they would agree that THAT’S a little weird. Anyway, it’s fall! And I should cool it on the Christmas tunes.

Our very, very, leafy yard. Now this picture was actually taken at the beginning of October. We no longer have ANY leaves on those trees. And I raked. One time. So we still have leaves in our yard. But now it’s not as bad as it was! Only dead… and colorless. OK!

This is the view from across the street. We have these 2 gorgeous trees in the front yard that, when we looked at the house in May, were covered in bright pink blooms! Can’t wait till Spring! Well, I can actually. I don’t want to miss Christmas…

So, all of this leaf changing happened while we were in Austin over the first weekend of October. We got home and the thermostat was pretty much stuck on 65 for a good two weeks. It’s currently 62 and the temps are steadily falling! The high on Monday is 55! It’s cool though (literally…) it’s been gorgeous and since we have no A/C I’m very grateful for the cooler weather. And our heating system is awesome! We had to get a carbon monoxide detector because after we bought the house we discovered there was a hole in our chimney and the pipe from the furnace had melted… yeah. It’s amazing that the previous owner didn’t die. Anyhoo, fixing our chimney was the first thing we did to the house. They closed up the hole and while they were on the roof the rest of that melted pipe just came off. Like, they pulled it out of the chimney. At that point we didn’t even know that it was a problem! So, long story ever so slightly shorter, with our the chimney hole patched up all the fumes from the furnace still go up and outside instead of in our house. Killing us while we sleep. It’s a good thing. Oh! Yes! Our heater? Awesome! So, with this house being over 70 years old, we have wooden vents on our floor and these cool metal vents that put out so much heat that you only have to turn the heater once in the morning to take off the chill and then, if you feel like it, once at night so you can get all cozy under the covers. It’s so nice! I don’t know why all heating systems aren’t along the floor… man. That was pretty boring, huh? Ah, heaters and chimneys! My life is ever so fascinating. Moving on!

I got crafty for a whole day. I was inspired by all the bright colors and I took a really awful picture of my “art”. These flowers took forever to assemble… never again. Or, not until after Thanksgiving at least.

Ah, fall!

October has been so wonderful! We have been home for 2 whole weekends now and we’re going on three :). Tomorrow I’m going to scout out some antique and furniture stores to get a better idea of what’s available for the studio since we will be moving in very soon. Camas, which is about 14 miles east of us, has the most amazing shop. It’s gorgeous! The displays they have scream shabby chic… it’s ridiculous! They have the cutest storage piece that I’m hoping will still be there by the 1st… I can’t wait to get the studio ready so you can all see it! It’s going to be wonderful. But, in the meantime, I’ll show you some of the pictures of our trip to Bellingham. We were there shooting a wedding and this is where Patrick fell in love with the Pacific Northwest. I can totally see why he wanted to come back. Enjoy!

This was taken on the pier in Fairhaven, which used to be a separate city from Bellingham but is now just an adorable community on the south side. So, essentially, Bellingham has 2 historic downtowns and therefore twice the charm. It’s insane! And crazy beautiful. Just one more of the sunset…

I look at this and I feel like I’m back in Italy… it’s almost irresistible! Almost 😉
So, later in the weekend Patrick showed me his favorite part of the are and we drove along this winding, scenic road called Chuckanut Drive. With views of the bay with islands and mountains in the distance it was pretty breathtaking. There were some gorgeous homes over there! Some were closer to the water and the beach and others were up in the hills overlooking, well, everything! It was awesome. I went home with every free real estate magazine I could find.
This picture doesn’t quite capture the view but the clouds were crazy! And you can still see the trees tops so if you can imagine looking over that from your house 50 feet above…yeah. Pretty nice. I mean, if someone wanted to give me a house with a view like this AND easy access to the beach I wouldn’t turn them down. I would demand that they pack all my belongings for me but that’s it.
And this is just cool. So I’m sharing it with you. It was really big and the trees in these parts are enormous anyway, but this literally grew over a boulder. A BOULDER! What DOES that?!? It blows my mind too much. I need some clouds.
WHAAAAA! Patrick made a huge mistake giving me photoshop and telling me there was an HDR program with it…
Anyway, Chuckanut Drive kind of curves around the bay and when you get out of the narrow winding parts (cliff down on the left, cliff up on the right) you end up in farm land. The smell of manure was like a slap in the face! Granted, it reminded me of Texas and I totally loved it, but it caught me so off guard! Patrick may want to live up on that giant hilly mountain but I can see the water from the flatland and I’m thinking we may need a farmhouse.
I’m pretty sure I took this after we turned around and decided to go back to downtown so this view is on our right, and that view of the water from above? On our left. Yep! AND we could see the big ‘mountain’ that a lot of the houses were on. I’m thinking this farm is the way to go. Not a bad picture from a moving car is it? Cause the scenery is that awesome!
So that’s it guys. We actually haven’t done much since then (well, we’ve worked and been to Austin and stuff but when it comes to documentation this is the last exciting thing we’ve done…). Maybe I’ll take my camera with me tomorrow and give you guys a tour of downtown. If it’s not raining. Which, now that I think about it, I believe it’s in the forecast… ah fall!
Leave a Reply

